Search This Blog

Loading...

Thursday, July 24, 2014

The book I'm reviewing today is The Burning by Jane Casey.

I really enjoyed this mystery. Detective Maeve Kerrigan and her partner Rob are on the case trying to catch the "burning man." The burning man is a serial killer who has bludgeoned then burned 4 (possibly 5) young women. However, there is some question about the 5th victim, Rebecca Haworth, being an actual victim of the burning man. 

Maeve is a dedicated detective who has to deal with a work environment which is sexist and less than friendly. Also, her workaholic tendencies are killing her relationship. Therefore, she concentrates on trying to solve this case.

As Maeve interviews Rebecca's family and friends, it becomes increasingly clear to Maeve that Rebecca's life was not what it seemed at first glance. 

The story is told from the points of view of Maeve and Rebecca's best friend, Louise. Sometimes alternating points of view can be distracting, but the author makes it work in this case. The burning man is actually only a small part of the story. As Maeve begins to discover that there is so much more to Rebecca's death, she is not convinced it is the work of the burning man. She fears it may actually be a copycat murder... and that becomes the focus of the story.

I really liked the way that Rebecca's true story was gradually revealed. Her relationships with her ex-boyfriend and her friends were also intriguing. Maeve and Rob were the most likeable characters in this story and I wanted to know more about them. 

All in all, this was a pretty solid mystery. The writing was good and it kept me wanting to know what happened next. There was no overuse of red herrings (which I dislike.) I did guess who the killer was only partway into the book but it didn't keep me from continuing to read...I still enjoyed the journey. I look forward to reading the next installment in the series. This was my first book by this author and I would definitely pick up something else by her.

***I received this book free of charge in exchange for my honest review. The opinions and thoughts expressed in this review are mine.***

Tuesday, June 3, 2014

Here's the newest book review! It all begins with one high school girl going into convulsions during class. It is sudden and unexplained. As her condition worsens in the hospital, other teens seem to succumb to the same mysterious affliction. Panic spreads through the community.

  I really wanted to like this book. The Nash family is likable enough. The story jumps back and forth between their different perspectives. There's the dad, Tom, who is a teacher at the high school which is being affected. There's Deenie, Tom's daughter, who is a student at the high school and also best friends with the first victim. Eli, Deenie's brother and Tom's son, also attends the high school. The fact that the perspective jumps around is disruptive.

  The author throws red herrings around freely. What is causing this outbreak? Is is the HPV vaccine that the girls recently received? Is it an STD? Is it the contaminated lake with the glowing, green algae? Why is affecting only girls?

  The author certainly knows teenagers well. Deenie struggles with problems that most teenage girls experience. She is dealing with her sexual awakening, insecurity about her position within her group of friends, and feelings of abandonment due to her mom leaving. On top of that she is filled with fear at this outbreak.

  My biggest problem with this book is that it dragged on and on. It was a good start but the middle section of the book went on too long. When the ending finally came, it was almost a relief just to be done. The actual ending left unanswered questions but not in a good way. This was my first book by Megan Abbott. The writing itself was good so I might give this author another chance.

  I received this advance copy from NetGalley for honest review.


Wednesday, May 21, 2014

It's been a while but I have been busy reading lots of books so I should have plenty of reviews coming soon!

Today's book is Close Reach by Jonathan Moore. I received an advanced copy of this book at no charge, courtesy of NetGalley.

Kelly and Dean have been sailing for three years trying to repair what is broken in their marriage. Things finally seem to be coming together when they find themselves being pursued by a pirate ship full of sadistic men. Kelly must find the courage and inner strength to try to save her husband and herself.

This book is a definite thrill ride. I kept wanting to read faster to find out what was going to happen next. At the same time, I didn't want to know what new horrors or humiliations lay in store for Kelly and her husband.

I really liked Kelly's character. She was human and flawed. She was sometimes unsure and very afraid but her will to live gave her the strength to fight. She was conflicted when faced with moral choices but managed to make realistic decisions in the situation.

I loved the fact that the author seemed to really do his research regarding sailing. I enjoyed that he did not tie up the ending with a neat little bow. It was an exciting read with lots of horrifying, nail-biting moments. I look forward to reading more from this author.


Friday, February 7, 2014

Wow! Here we are in February already! This week's book is a sequel to the best splatterpunk book I've ever read.

  Another great, gory adventure from the brilliantly twisted mind of Ryan C. Thomas. This story is the sequel to The Summer I Died. In my opinion, TSID still reigns supreme but the sequel is still a fun, bloody read. What I like about the Roger Huntington saga is that his character is so well-developed...human, flawed and believable.

  If you're looking for a book where the hero gets the girl in the end, surrounded by puppies and rainbows, this isn't the book for you. However, if you'd love a ride full of thrills, heart thumping, wondering what's going to happen next when things just keep getting worse and worse for our leading man...then you've come to the right place. I am anxiously awaiting another installment!


Click on the book cover below to get your own Kindle copy!

Friday, January 24, 2014

Hi everyone, This week's book was courtesy of NetGalley. It's a little irritating for me because these copies still have a lot of typos but the story itself was very enjoyable. Blood Orange SodaBlood Orange Soda by James Michael Larranaga
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

There are so many vampire YA books out there that it was refreshing to read one with a twist. One in which the main character is a teenage boy. Darius is a Goth teenager dealing with a lot of the issues we all faced in high school, including a bully who makes life miserable for him. At the same time, he is taking Reds (a medication that the government supplies to keep people with vampire blood from turning into vampires.) So he is faced with the decision of deciding to go off the Reds or live life as a "Normal." He is also coming to terms with the fact that his mom is dying from an incurable disease. Should he go off the Reds and take "Blood Orange Soda"? It is an illegal drink that will help him speed up the process of transforming and give him a fighting chance at defeating this tormentor. I don't want to give the story away but I really enjoyed the characters, especially Darius. He is believable and just a normal kid, underneath all that "guyliner."

View all my reviews
Keep a look out for this book...it's due to be released in March 2014.

Monday, January 13, 2014

Hi everyone, I know it's been a while but it's a new year and I have a huge list of books and products to review. Here's the first installment of the year... I recently read a book that was so much more than what it appears to be at first glance. Yes, it's a bloody story but the author gives the characters such depth that the gore almost becomes secondary. I loved this book. Here's my review: OK, this book WAS violent, bloody and gory but...there was so much more to it. The characters were well-developed and believable. Roger and Tooth are human, flawed and with a great desire to survive. It takes a talented author to be able to shock me AND move me. Ryan C. Thomas does both. This book is about the strength of the human spirit in the face of unrestrained brutality. I don't want to give away too much but this book is definitely worth reading. I could not put it down and, when I finished it, had to immediately download the sequel. Can't wait for the movie! I am currently working on Horns by Joe Hill (Stephen King's son.) I will review it when done!

Tuesday, January 8, 2013

I received a free Covergirl flipstick kit from BzzAgent.com. The kit included 3 flipsticks in the following colors: Stunner, Vixen and Minx. The idea is to provide you with two colors in one stick. One is a matte color. The other is a lighter, glimmery shade which compliments the first color. This is supposed to give options so you can create daytime and nighttime looks. For example, wear the matte color to work and then you can add the glimmery shade to the center of you lower lip and the inside portion of your upper lip. This creates a more dramatic, pouty look. The colors are highly pigmented and last through drinks and meals. However, the formula is not moisturizing and I found that the flipsticks dried my lips causing them to peel. They were fun to play with but they are not as good as some other Covergirl products. I will not be purchasing any more of these lip colors. ***I received this product free for testing purposes from BzzAgent.com. I received this product in exchange for my honest opinion.***