Search This Blog

Sunday, October 28, 2012

Review for Sleep Number Bed:

I can honestly say that this bed felt like I was floating on a cloud. First, I tried the standard sleep number bed and found my sleep number (which is 30.) Then once I knew that number, I tried the bed with the memory foam over the air chambers. Instant heaven! It gave me support in all the right places and my back pain was instantly gone. I will definitely be purchasing a Sleep Number bed when it's time to replace my current mattress! Thx SLEEP NUMBER 4 my free CoolFit Pillow! I found my SLEEP NUMBER® setting, so should you! Enter for chance to win FREE SLEEP NUMBER® memory foam bed

***I am a member of the online community where I qualify to try brands for free in exchange for sharing my authentic opinion and feedback.***

Try for yourself!

Wednesday, October 24, 2012

I received Glade Expressions free, in exchange for my honest review, as part of the BzzAgent program. The fragrance mist (Cotton & Italian Mandarin) is light and fresh. The "squeeze" spray makes it so easy to use.

I also got to try the diffuser in Fuji Apple and Cardamon spice. It was so warm and filled an entire room with its inviting scent.

I really liked that this fragrance collection has starter sets and refills that are reasonably priced. One more thing I'd like to mention is that the scents I sampled did not have a chemical smell. Loved these!

Wednesday, September 26, 2012

Hi everyone! I know, I's been a while but life gets busy sometimes despite our best laid plans.  Here's my latest read.

I really enjoyed this book. It had a great twist on the whole zombie thing. These zombies are not flesh eaters but intelligent hosts to a fungus. This is a fungus that demands to be spread in its search for new hosts (an organic pesticide gone awry.) The story takes place in Florida and the residents of the quarantined area need to get to the border and be cleared.

You can imagine the chaos that ensues (looting, horrific traffic jams, lack of food and water, violence.) I really wanted to like the characters but their flaws (which do make them human) make them unlikeable. No loyalty or honor here.

The whole idea of airborne spores is completely frightening to me. So, despite the characters, the story is definitely worth reading.

I would definitely recommend this story to my fellow zombie fans out there.

Saturday, August 4, 2012

Just finished reading Bitten by Kelley Armstrong. I really enjoyed this book. The characters were flawed but likeable. This is the first book I've read dedicated solely to werewolves and there was never a dull moment.

The author really brought out the playfulness in the wolves and the sense of freedom during their runs. The main character,Elena, is the only female werewolf in the world. She is torn between the human world and the pack life. While she is trying to figure out what she wants and where she belongs, tragedy strikes the pack and her loyalty is put to the test.

This book had it all: a good mystery, action and romance (steamy scenes without any sappy stuff.)Can't wait to read Stolen, the next installment in the Women of the Otherworld series. I highly recommend it!

Monday, June 11, 2012

I'm on a roll with the books this month! Today's post is on Flesh Eaters by Alisha Adkins.

Definitely a dark and disturbing read, this story grabbed me and didn't let go until the very end. That bleak, hopeless feeling crept in and (I suspect) will remain with me for a while. I was intrigued by the main character, Adrienne, and really wish we would have known more about her past life and how she ended up in Britain.
Adrienne wakes up to a post-apocalyptic world full of zombies and the rare living person, also trying to survive at all costs.I could feel her anguish and conflicting feelings as she was forced to make the decision to starve, or eat what was available and live. I'm not sure what happened to all the animals (pets, wildlife, cattle) but I guess this was a necessary part of the story. Her relationship with Timmy really added to the story. It gave her life some kind of purpose to protect this child (and loneliness would have been a strong factor.)
The ending was sad but seemed inevitable. All in all, it was a compelling story and I look forward to reading more from this author.
***I received this book free of charge through***

Friday, June 8, 2012

Good morning, everyone! Today I am reviewing a novella called, Cinderella and Zombies.

This novella was a quick and easy read. It had an interesting, creative take on a classic fairy tale. In this story, Cinderella was not abused by her stepmother and stepsisters but she seemed to be the only responsible adult in the household. I loved that she was a strong, female character and SHE was the zombie slayer. I would have enjoyed a little more blood and gore but, all in all, it was a fun read. I look forward to reading more from this author.
***I received this book free of charge from the author through***

Thursday, June 7, 2012

Today's review is #1 in a series. Anyone that knows me knows I love zombies so this was right up my alley :-)

 I really enjoyed this version of Cinderella. I was lost in the story within minutes of starting. I loved that Cinderella had a chance at revenge after all the abuse she put up with. When I got to the end of the story, I was dying to know what happens when she gets to the ball. Such a dark twist on a children's classic...I will definitely pick up more of these Zombie Fairy Tales!

 ***I received this novella at no charge through***

Wednesday, June 6, 2012

Hi everyone! I know, I's been a long time but hopefully I'm back to stay!

Today I'm reviewing a book I just read: Shades of Grey by Michael Cargill

This is a collection of 3 short stories. All of them very different from each other but all dark and with the same themes of death and violence. The first story, "Shades of Grey" is about a man (John) who works for a British government agency and who has made a career out of violence and killing. In the story he finds himself on the receiving end of some of his own tricks of the trade. This story I wanted to know more about. How did John end up tied in the interrogation chair? What happens to him after the end of this short story?

The second story, "There and Back Again" is about a young British soldier (James) fighting in France during the second World War. The realities of war seem to take a while to sink in for him. This was my least favorite of the 3 stories.

The third story, "Down the Rabbit Hole" is about a young boy with a mean, abusive father. He also has a plush bunny who begins to talk to him and has creative ways of solving the boy's problems. This was by far my favorite of the 3 stories.

This set of short stories was well-written and left me wanting to know more about the characters. I really enjoyed the stories and didn't want them to end so soon! I look forward to reading more from this author.

***I received this book at no charge through the Shut Up & Read, Read It and Reap program.***